Is State Minimum Coverage Enough?

Many states, including Pennsylvania, require that a driver has a certain amount of car insurance. Sometimes though, the minimum a state requires you to have, may not be enough liability coverage in the case of an accident. Having the right amount of coverage can prevent the potential for financial loss.

Liability Limits

Auto liability covers injuries to  another driver, their passengers, and your passengers. State minimum limits refer to the absolute minimal liability and property coverage required by state law, in order for you to legally own and operate your vehicle.

In Pennsylvania the minimum liability amounts are 15/30/5. This means you would have up to $15,000 per person injured in any one accident, up to $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident, and up to $5,000 for property damage in any one accident. So if you cause $30,000 in property damages and you only have coverage up to $5,000, you will need to come up with the extra $25,000. This could put your assets at risk!

Recommended Coverage

Every circumstance and situation is different among drivers. Most insurance companies would recommend at least 100/ 300 for liability and 100,000 towards property damage. To speak with a knowledgeable agent about your liability limits feel free call Barrick Insurance at (717) 632-7270.

One person died in this three-car crash. (KATU News photo)

 

 

 

Advertisements
Is State Minimum Coverage Enough?